Kinderplay Logo
Navigation Menu

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS is from birth to the end of the reception year (six years).

Every child will follow the EYFS and have their own individual records. As your child moves through the EYFS I will give you progress reports and show you the records kept at your child’s review (or any time you want to go through them)! The records I will keep on your child will be Observations- watching your child, writing notes so gaining an insight into your child’s world so I can plan according to your child’s individual needs, Short Term Plans – these are details of the activities I have planned to do with the children. The activities with the children I hadn’t planned and those that are child-initiated I will keep Activity Sheets for! As well as the three mentioned above I will keep progress records - in two ways – progress reports and as a booklet.

In your reviews I will bring up any points which need addressing and give you an opportunity to give input into your child’s individual learning plan.

The information below is taken from the EYFS pack

All children are different and to reflect this age ranges have been overlapped in the EYFS to create broad developmental phases. There are six broad developmental phases these are:- Birth to 11 months, 8-20 months, 16-26 months, 22-36 months, 30-50 months and 40-60+ months.

The four themes of the EYFS are:
  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

These four themes express important Principles underpinning effective practice in the care, development and learning of young children.

  1. A Unique Child
    Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
    1. Understand and observe each child's development and learning, assess progress, plan for next steps
    2. Support babies and children to develop a positive sense of their own identity and culture
    3. Identify any need for additional support
    4. Keep children safe
    5. Value and respect all children and families equally

  2. Positive Relationships
    Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships, which are
    1. Warm and loving, and foster a sense of belonging
    2. Sensitive and responsive to the child's needs, feelings and interests
    3. Supportive of the child's own efforts and independence
    4. Consistent in setting clear boundaries
    5. Stimulating
    6. Built on key person relationships in early years setting

  3. Enabling Environments
    Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers. Enabling Environments value all people and value learning. They offer
    1. Stimulating resources, relevant to all the children's cultures and communities
    2. Rich learning opportunities through play and playful teaching
    3. Support for children to take risks and explore

  4. Learning And Development
    Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care in the early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.
    Practitioners teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development.

    They foster the characteristics of effective early learning

    • Playing and exploring - engagement
    • Finding out and exploring
    • Playing with and what they know
    • Being willing to 'have a go'

    • Active learning - motivation
    • Being involved and concentrating
    • Keep trying
    • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

    • Creating and thinking critically - thinking
    • Having their own ideas
    • Making links
    • Choosing ways to do things

- Back To Top -